Skip to main content

Board Committees

Board Committees and Membership
(as of the 2023-2024 school year)

Board policy BDB(LOCAL) Board Internal Organization – Internal Committees (Opens in new window) provides for the creation of internal committees to facilitate the efficient operation of the Board. Committees of the Board serve in a purely advisory role, with no power to take action or direct public business, which can only be done by a quorum of the Board at a public meeting. Committees are established by Board action and trustees are elected by their fellow Board members to serve on committees.

In addition to serving on internal Board committees, trustees also represent the Board on several District and community committees, councils and boards.

Audit Committee

  • Members: Kayla Mendez, David Nance, Connie Brown
  • Purpose: The purpose of the Board Audit Committee is to serve in an advisory role to review internal and external financial audit process and reports

Policy Committee

  • Members: Don Powell, Kayla Mendez, Connie Brown
  • Purpose: The purpose of the Board Policy Committee is to establish policy review and adoption priorities; make recommendations for Board action on policies including the creation and amendment of policies; review policy concerns raised by stakeholders to ensure compliance and fairness

Facilities/Property Committee

  • Members: Connie Brown, Don Powell, Steve Trafton
  • Purpose: The purpose of the Board Facilities/Property Committee is to study issues around the use and disposition of certain District properties and to assist the Administration in evaluating current District facility needs and improvements.

NOTE:  The Community and Governmental Affairs Committee is currently inactive pending tasks and responsibilities to be assigned by the Board.


District Committees and Community Boards

The following trustees have been appointed by vote of the Board to represent the Board on these District committees and community boards:

  • Districtwide Educational Advisory Council
    • Doyle Corder
    • Steve Trafton
  • District Safety and Security Committee
    • Doyle Corder
    • Jon Mark Beilue
    • Steve Trafton
  • School Health Advisory Council
    • David Nance
    • Jon Mark Beilue
  • Amarillo Education Foundation Board of Directors
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Doyle Corder
    • Jon Mark Beilue
  • City of Amarillo Downtown Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ #1) Board
    • ​​​​​​​Steve Trafton
  • City of Amarillo East Gateway TIRZ #2 Board
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Doyle Corder